Open today: 16:00 - 23:00

Ethiopian Hit Parade 2

Ethiopian Hit Parade 2






1x Vinyl LP Compilation Reissue



Release date

Aug 13, 2021

Ethiopian Hit Parade 2 - Heavenly Sweetness - Le Discoathe - Montpellier

The follow up to the highly acclaimed reissue of the first volume Ethiopian Hit Parade. This 2nd volume features 'Ethiopian Hits' from 1972 to 1975. The track layout is Identical reissue to the original vinyl

"After releasing around fifty 45 rpm singles and his first 33 rpm album (Ethiopian Modern Instrumental Hits AELP 10, re-released by Heavenly Sweetness HS092VL), Amha Esthèté set about compiling his best 45s on a series of now legendary albums (the originals are impossible to find) in 1972. The first four volumes of Ethiopian Hit Parade were released in September and October 1972, with the fifth volume appearing in January 1973. You are the proud owner of Volume 2.

It is worth reminding ourselves that when Amha Esthèté set up his Amha Records label in 1968-69, it was in defiance of a state monopoly designed to regulate the imports and production of records by an imperial decree of July 1948. This extravagant state privilege had produced only 78s of traditional music , which though thrilling, excluded anything at all modern. To the best of our knowledge, only sixty-seven of these prehistoric discs were pressed in Great Britain between 1955 and 1961 and released by His Master’s Voice. They were supposed to be part of celebrations of Emperor Haile Selassie’s silver jubilee . . . even though 33s and 45s had existed since 1948 and 1949 respectively! Such incompetence and servility, combined with a rejection of an effervescent contemporary music scene, were symptomatic of the decadence surrounding the end of an era.

An audacious, funky outlaw, a music lover and an entrepreneur in tune with the baby-boomer generation, young Amha Esthèté (he was only twenty-four when he launched his label) will be remembered as the instigator of a peaceful revolution thick with soul and rock’n’roll.

After the acclaimed reissue of the first volume Ethiopian Hit Parade. Here is the second volume that include all the greatest Ethiopian Hits from 1972 to 1975. Identical reissue to the original vinyl which is extremely rare and expensive.

The opening track of the compilation is the song Tezeta Slow and Fast by GETACHEW KASSA were featured on the album Ethiopiques, Vol. 10: Ethiopian Blues & Ballads. and originally released on 1972. The other tracks on this second volume celebrate such pioneers of modern Ethiopian groove as Abayneh Degene, Tèshomè Meteku, Menelik Wossenachew Mulatu Astatqe and Muluken Melesse, alongside “tradi-modern” singers representing Amhara and Oromo culture, so rich and so long marginalized."s

Media: Mi
Sleeve: M


*Taxes included, shipping price excluded

Rip Samples from vinyl, pics and Discount on Please feel free to ask informations about our products and sell conditions. We ship vinyles world wide from our shop based in Montpellier (France). Come to visit us. Le Discopathe propose news and 2nd hands vinyls, collectors, rare and classic records from past 70 years


Getachew Kassa - Tezeta


Mulatu Instrumental - Munaye


Teshome Mitiku - Yelemed Yebada


Abayneh Degene - Balengerie


Alemayehu Eshete - Temhert Bété


Menelik Wossenachew - Belew Bedubaye


Alemayehu Eshete - Alteleyeshigneme


Teshome Mitiku - Mote Adeladayou


Essatu T. - Fikir Bekumena


Muluken Melesse - Enbayen Teregew

Other items you may like:

Recorded in January 2015 by Serge Morattel (Year of No Light, Basement, Ventura, Knut) 10 tracks that 52 minutes is the band’s third album since 2006. After crossing bands on the road as Mono, Grails, Pneu, Marvin, Shub and Don Caballero. Goodbye Diana has a 4-year break to come back as a trio of guitar, bass and drums. Always instrumental the band from Montpellier travel between math rock and post rock, not hesitating to mix fine melodies buried under sheets of delay and rhythmic and catchy riffs.The artwork cover is inspired by the work of Swiss artist Ueli Hofer.
After a first year of activity with 3 beautiful single reissues, SOL DISCOS presents its first album, with the compilation Message In Our Music, selected by WAXIST. Focusing on Modern-Soul genre, the selection ranges from 1977 to 1983 and gathers a nice selection of independent and private press records, all officially licensed.From the David Nathan's downtempo previously unreleased version of "Ain't Nothing Like The Love", to the beautiful Glen Missick's gospel dancer "Message In Our Music", the album aims at providing to the listener a glimpse of the wide spectrum of productions that exist in this musical genre.Some of these beauties are officially reissued on vinyl for the very first time, including some highly sought after records such as "Deep Inside Of You" by Harden Brothers, "My Dream" by Harvell Guiton, or "Love With Me" by Don Scott.The album has been fully remastered by The Carvery in the UK, and features liner notes for each of the songs, plus exclusive pictures provided by the involved artists & producers.
Finally back in stock ! Total gem.

This website uses cookies to offer you the best online experience. By continuing to use our website, you agree to the use of cookies.